Silencieux centrifuges

Centrifugal Silencers PDFLes compresseurs centrifuges sont bruyants et nécessitent un contrôle du bruit. Tout comme une pompe augmente la pression sur un liquide, un compresseur augmente la pression d'air ou de gaz. Le bruit du compresseur centrifuge est principalement produit par la turbulance en bout d'aube qui est fonction de la puissance en chevaux, de la vitesse, de la pression de refoulement, des vitesses de tuyauterie, du nombre d'étages de compression, du type et du nombre d'aubes, etc.

La rotation à grande vitesse des aubes ou des impulseurs génère un bruit qui consiste principalement en des tonalités discrètes interdispersées sur un spectre de fréquences à large bande de moindre intensité. L'amplitude maximale se produit à la fréquence de passage de la pale et à sa deuxième harmonique. Le bruit haute fréquence généré est dans la plage audible et nécessite un traitement pour obtenir un contrôle du bruit.

L'importance d'un dimensionnement approprié de la tuyauterie d'admission et de refoulement ne peut être surestimée. Un silencieux d'admission et de refoulement est normalement requis. Ces silencieux sont des silencieux de type absorbant qui sont essentiellement un atténuateur de perte de charge haute fréquence et basse pression. Cela dépend du matériau absorbant le son pour dissiper l'énergie acoustique et sont généralement des conceptions droites. Tous les silencieux doivent être couplés aussi près que possible du compresseur pour éviter un bruit rayonné excessif dans la conduite.

Sélection du silencieux

Les silencieux des compresseurs centrifuges sont normalement sélectionnés sur la base de la chute de pression maximale admissible au débit nominal et des critères de silencieux. Ces silencieux sont généralement dimensionnés pour une vitesse d'environ 5000 à 5500 FPM mais ne dépassant pas la vitesse de 7500 FPM pour éviter un bruit auto-généré excessif et la génération de bruit aérodynamique.

Lors du choix du silencieux du compresseur centrifuge, il faut s'assurer que la zone d'écoulement dans tout le silencieux est suffisante pour accueillir le flux d'air sans imposer de restriction excessive.

Le tableau suivant indique le débit d'air maximal recommandé en CFM pour la taille respective du silencieux conformément aux directives ci-dessus.

Sélectionnez le silencieux en fonction du débit d'air du tableau ci-dessus.

Tableau des silencieux basé sur le débit d'air

Reportez-vous aux formules données ici pour calculer la perte de charge pour la taille de silencieux sélectionnée. Vérifiez cette chute de pression par rapport à la chute de pression maximale admissible. Si la perte de charge est trop élevée, sélectionnez la taille supérieure suivante et recalculez.

La chute de pression

(Ces calculs supposent que l'air est le gaz qui s'écoule. Pour d'autres gaz, la densité et d'autres corrections peuvent être nécessaires. Contactez nos ingénieurs pour obtenir de l'aide)

Données requises:

Débit d'air (CFM réel) Température (° F) Pression (PSIG) Chute de pression maximale admissible (pouces d'eau)

Si cette chute de pression est supérieure à la chute de pression maximale autorisée, sélectionnez la taille supérieure suivante et recalculez.

Limites de température

Diverses options pour les matériaux d'absorption acoustique sont disponibles avec des limites de température allant de 325 ° F à 1000 ° F. Veuillez consulter nos ingénieurs pour vos applications spécifiques afin de sélectionner un matériau d'absorption adapté à vos besoins.

Note de pression

Les silencieux décrits ici sont conçus pour une pression de service maximale de 15 PSIG. Pour les applications où la pression dépasse 15 PSIG, les silencieux peuvent être conçus selon le code ASME, section 8, div. 1 pour la construction d'appareils sous pression. Les dimensions sont similaires aux modèles standard, mais le type de matériau et les épaisseurs sont sélectionnés pour répondre aux exigences du code. Consultez nos ingénieurs pour obtenir des informations sur les prix et la conception.

Courbes d'atténuation

La courbe d'atténuation du bruit montrant la perte d'insertion à chaque fréquence est présentée ici. Cela représente la perte d'insertion pour le bruit aérien dans des conditions moyennes. Le niveau de bruit silencieux résultant dépendra d'un certain nombre d'autres facteurs. Par conséquent, cette courbe doit être utilisée avec discrétion et peut être utilisée comme guide pour évaluer les niveaux de bruit après l'installation du silencieux. Nous nous spécialisons dans les conceptions personnalisées et fournissons également diverses orientations de buse pour répondre à vos besoins spécifiques.

Silencieux à ventilateur centrifuge

Silencieux à ventilateur centrifuge Un silencieux à ventilateur centrifuge doit être soigneusement assorti à une entrée de ventilateur ou à un profil d'air de sortie afin d'offrir le contrôle le plus efficace du bruit du ventilateur avec de faibles exigences de pression supplémentaires. Un silencieux de ventilateur centrifuge est disponible en acier doux, en acier aluminisé, en acier inoxydable, selon vos besoins. Les exigences suivantes pour être en mesure de bien convenir à l'application incluent les supports remplis de film, les supports dissipatifs remplis et les conceptions sans support. De nombreux accessoires sont également disponibles pour des éléments tels que le filtrage, les hottes anti-pluie, la mesure du débit et les types de raccordement à bride.

Les applications typiques de silencieux de ventilateur centrifuge sont situées sur les entrées et les sorties des ventilateurs centrifuges dans les domaines suivants: 1) air de process, 2) air d'échappement, 3) collecte de poussière et 4) systèmes d'air de ventilation.

Une grande variété et un certain nombre de ventilateurs et de soufflantes, tous utilisés dans un processus industriel et une application de ventilation, divers problèmes liés au bruit, impliquant la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs, ainsi qu'un environnement satisfaisant info@eiwilliams.com

© E.I. Williams. Tous les droits sont réservés.   |

EI Williams
  • Rotary Positive - Pod Silencers - Combination Silencers - Fan Silencers - Centrifugal Silencers - Vent Silencers - Engine Silencers - Noise Enclosures - Positive Displacement Blower Silencer - Centrifugal Fan Silencer - Axial Fan Silencer - Blow Off Silencer - Industrial Enclosure - Engine Enclosure - Blower Enclosure

    EI Williams serves many products including: Axial Fan Silencer - Blow Off Silencer - Industrial Enclosure - Engine Enclosure - Blower Enclosure

  • Rotary Positive - Pod Silencers - Combination Silencers - Fan Silencers - Centrifugal Silencers - Vent Silencers - Engine Silencers - Noise Enclosures - Positive Displacement Blower Silencer - Centrifugal Fan Silencer - Axial Fan Silencer - Blow Off Silencer - Industrial Enclosure - Engine Enclosure - Blower Enclosure

    EI Williams serves many products including: Axial Fan Silencer - Blow Off Silencer - Industrial Enclosure - Engine Enclosure - Blower Enclosure

  • Rotary Positive - Pod Silencers - Combination Silencers - Fan Silencers - Centrifugal Silencers - Vent Silencers - Engine Silencers - Noise Enclosures - Positive Displacement Blower Silencer - Centrifugal Fan Silencer - Axial Fan Silencer - Blow Off Silencer - Industrial Enclosure - Engine Enclosure - Blower Enclosure

    EI Williams serves many products including: Axial Fan Silencer - Blow Off Silencer - Industrial Enclosure - Engine Enclosure - Blower Enclosure

Centrifugal Silencers

Click here to download or view this catalogue as an Acrobat PDF file. You can then print the catalogue. Free PDF reader software available here.

  • CL Series
  • CCS Series

Information On Centrifugal Compressor Silencers

Centrifugal compressors are noisy and require noise control. Just as a pump raises the pressure on a liquid, a compressor raises air or gas pressure. Centrifugal compressor noise is produced primarily by blade-tip turbulance which is a function of horse power, speed, discharge pressure, piping velocities, number of stages of compression, type and number of blades etc.

The high speed rotation of vanes or impellers generates noise which primarily consists of discrete tones interdispersed over a broad-band frequency spectrum of lesser intensity. The maximum amplitude occurs at the blade passing frequency and its second harmonic. The high frequency noise generated is in the audible range and requires treatment for achieving noise control.

The importance of proper sizing of intake and discharge piping cannot be overemphasized. Both intake and discharge silencing is normally required. These silencers are absorptive type silencers which are essentially a high frequency, low pressure drop attenuator. It depends on sound absorbing material to dissipate the acoustical energy and are usually straight thru designs. All silencers should be coupled as close as possible to the compressor to prevent excessive pipe radiated noise.

Silencer Selection

The centrifugal compressor silencers are normally selected on the basis of maximum allowable pressure drop at rated flow and the silencing criteria. These silencers are usually sized for around 5000 to 5500 FPM velocity but not exceeding 7500 FPM velocity to prevent excessive self generated noise and aerodynamic noise generation.

While selecting the centrifugal compressor silencer, it must be ensured that the flow area throughout the silencer is sufficient to accomodate the air flow without imposing excessive restriction.

The following table indicates the maximum recommended air flow in CFM for respective silencer size in accordance with the above guidelines.

Select the silencer based on the air flow from above table.


Silencer Chart based on air flow

Refer to the formulas given here for calculating the pressure drop for the silencer size selected. Check this pressure drop against the maximum allowable pressure drop. If the pressure drop is too high, select the next larger size and recalculate.

Pressure Drop

(These calculations assume air as the flowing gas. For other gases, density and other corrections may be required. Contact our engineers for assistance)

Data Required:

  • Air Flow Rate (Actual CFM)
  • Temperature (°F)
  • Pressure (PSIG)
  • Maximum allowable pressure drop (inches of water)

If this pressure drop is higher than the maximum allowable pressure drop, then select next larger size and recalculate.

Temperature Limits

Various options for acoustical absorption materials are available with temperature limits ranging from 325°F to 1000°F. Please consult our engineers for your specific applications for selecting suitable absorption material suiting to your requirements.

Pressure Rating

The silencers described herein are designed to a maximum operating pressure of 15 PSIG. For applications where pressure exceeds 15 PSIG, the silencers can be designed to ASME Code, Section 8, Div. 1 for pressure vessel construction. The dimensions are similar to standard models, but the material type and thicknesses are selected to meet code requirements. Consult our engineers for pricing and design information.

Attenuation Curves

Noise attenuation curve showing insertion loss at each frequency is shown here. This represents the insertion loss for airborne noise under average conditions. The resultant silenced noise level will depend on a number of other factors therefore this curve should be used with discretion and can be used as a guideline for evaluating the noise levels after the silencer installation.


We specialize in custom designs and also provide various nozzle orientations to suit your specific requirements.

Centrifugal Fan Silencers

Centrifugal Fan SilencersA Centrifugal Fan Silencers needs to be carefully matched with a fan inlet or an outlet air profile in order to offer the most effective fan noise control with low additional pressure requirements. A centrifugal fan silencer comes in mild steel, aluminized steel, stainless steel construction, depending on your needs. The next requirements to be able to suit the application nicely include media filled with film liner, dissipative media filled and No-Media designs. There are also many different accessories available for such things as filtering, rain hoods, flow measurement and flange connection types.

Typical centrifugal fan silencer applications are located on inlets and outlets of the centrifugal fans in the following: 1) process air, 2) exhaust air, 3) dust collection, and 4) ventilation air systems.

A wide variety and a number of fans and blowers all used within an industrial process and a ventilation application various noise related issues, involving worker health and safety, along with satisfying environmental regulations. E.I. Williams works hard to make sure these concerns are alleviated with proper design regarding Centrifugal fan silencers.

It is important to silence the side of a fan that is exposed to the atmosphere, requiring either inlet or outlet fan silencers.

Interested in details on centrifugal fan silencers, get in touch with an engineer at E.I. Williams today to inquire about our services and how we can assist you today. We can help to design and manufacture custom Centrifugal Fan silencers in order to meet specified standards.


To learn more about EI Williams, call us at (905) 428-0950 or toll-free at 1-877-840-3347 or you can also email us at info@eiwilliams.com for further inquiries.