Silencieux de ventilateur

Les installations industrielles de ventilateurs, petites ou grandes, produisent du bruit. Ce bruit de ventilateur est l'une des sources de bruit les plus prédominantes dans une installation industrielle. L'ampleur et l'intensité du bruit varient en fonction de la taille du ventilateur, de la puissance en chevaux, du débit d'air, du type et du nombre de pales, de la pression statique, de la vitesse de rotation, etc.

Les ventilateurs fournissent normalement un grand volume d'air à des pressions statiques relativement faibles généralement mesurées en pouces d'eau. L'action de rotation des aubes produit un spectre de bruit à large bande, cependant, le bruit dans la gamme de fréquences moyennes à élevées est entendu comme étant plus fort et doit être traité pour obtenir un contrôle du bruit.

Généralement, des silencieux sont utilisés à l'admission et au refoulement des installations de ventilateurs pour traiter le bruit aérien. Les silencieux de ventilateur nécessitent généralement une conception de type absorbant car ils sont bien connus pour une meilleure atténuation dans la gamme de fréquences moyennes et élevées (500-8000 Hz). L'efficacité du matériau d'absorption diminue progressivement à des fréquences supérieures et inférieures à cette plage.

Le contrôle du bruit est réalisé au moyen de l'absorption. L'énergie acoustique se propageant à travers le silencieux est effectivement absorbée dans le matériau d'absorption fibreux et convertie en énergie thermique. Ces silencieux utilisent généralement une conception droite et ont une faible perte de charge car ils imposent très peu de restriction au débit.

Sélection du silencieux

Les silencieux de ventilateur sont normalement sélectionnés sur la base de la perte de charge maximale admissible au débit nominal et des critères de silencieux. Ces silencieux sont généralement dimensionnés pour une vitesse d'environ 5000 à 5500 FPM mais ne dépassant pas la vitesse de 7500 FPM pour éviter un bruit auto-généré excessif et la génération de bruit aérodynamique. Lors du choix du silencieux du ventilateur, il faut s'assurer que la zone d'écoulement dans tout le silencieux est suffisante pour accueillir le flux d'air sans imposer de restriction excessive.

Le tableau suivant indique le débit d'air maximal recommandé en CFM pour la taille respective du silencieux conformément aux directives ci-dessus.

Sélectionnez la taille du silencieux en fonction du débit d'air dans le tableau ci-dessus.

Reportez-vous aux formules données ici pour calculer la perte de charge pour la taille de silencieux sélectionnée. Vérifiez cette chute de pression par rapport à la chute de pression maximale admissible. Si la perte de charge est trop élevée, sélectionnez la taille supérieure suivante et recalculez.

La chute de pression

(Ces calculs supposent que l'air est le gaz qui s'écoule. Pour d'autres gaz, la densité et d'autres corrections peuvent être nécessaires. Contactez nos ingénieurs pour obtenir de l'aide).

Données requises:

Débit d'air (CFM réel) Température (° F) Pression (PSIG) Chute de pression maximale admissible (pouces d'eau)

Si cette chute de pression est supérieure à la chute de pression maximale autorisée, sélectionnez la taille supérieure suivante et recalculez.

Limites de température

Diverses options pour les matériaux d'absorption acoustique sont disponibles avec des limites de température allant de 325 ° F à 1000 ° F. Veuillez consulter nos ingénieurs pour vos applications spécifiques afin de sélectionner un matériau d'absorption adapté à vos besoins.

Note de pression

Les silencieux décrits ici sont conçus pour une pression de service maximale de 15 PSIG. Pour les applications où la pression dépasse 15 PSIG, les silencieux peuvent être conçus selon le code ASME, section 8, div. 1 pour la construction d'appareils sous pression. Les dimensions sont similaires aux modèles standard, mais le type de matériau et les épaisseurs sont sélectionnés pour répondre aux exigences du code. Consultez nos ingénieurs pour obtenir des informations sur les prix et la conception.

Courbes d'atténuation

La courbe d'atténuation du bruit montrant la perte d'insertion à chaque fréquence est présentée ici. Cela représente la perte d'insertion pour le bruit aérien dans des conditions moyennes. Le niveau de bruit silencieux résultant dépendra d'un certain nombre d'autres facteurs. Par conséquent, cette courbe doit être utilisée avec discrétion et peut être utilisée comme guide pour évaluer les niveaux de bruit après l'installation du silencieux.

Nous nous spécialisons dans les conceptions personnalisées et fournissons également diverses orientations de buse pour répondre à vos besoins spécifiques.

Silencieux à ventilateur axial

Silencieux à ventilateur axial Les silencieux à ventilateur axial sont utilisés pour de nombreux systèmes différents dans les domaines des applications industrielles et commerciales. Ces silencieux sont spécialement conçus pour pouvoir compléter les profils de flux d'air pour les ventilateurs axiaux. Les éléments acoustiques sont adaptés de manière aérodynamique aux paramètres du ventilateur pour pouvoir minimiser les effets du système avec pour résultat de maximiser les économies d'énergie. Un silencieux de ventilateur axial est disponible pour s'adapter à n'importe quelle taille de ventilateur, avec des matériaux de construction adaptés à un type de système, une taille de ventilateur et une vitesse plus élevée d'un type de ventilateur.

Les types disponibles de silencieux à ventilateur axial comprennent des supports remplis de film, des supports dissipatifs remplis et des conceptions sans support. Le E.I. L'équipe de service technique de Williams peut vous aider à appliquer un silencieux à ventilateur axial qui est nécessaire pour répondre à diverses exigences de contrôle du bruit.

Ces types d'applications sont pour l'entrée ou la sortie des ventilateurs axiaux pour l'air de retour, l'air extrait et les installations de désenfumage ainsi que les centrales de traitement d'air, les installations de ventilation tunnel et info@eiwilliams.com

© E.I. Williams. Tous les droits sont réservés.   |

EI Williams
  • Rotary Positive - Pod Silencers - Combination Silencers - Fan Silencers - Centrifugal Silencers - Vent Silencers - Engine Silencers - Noise Enclosures - Positive Displacement Blower Silencer - Centrifugal Fan Silencer - Axial Fan Silencer - Blow Off Silencer - Industrial Enclosure - Engine Enclosure - Blower Enclosure

    EI Williams serves many products including: Axial Fan Silencer - Blow Off Silencer - Industrial Enclosure - Engine Enclosure - Blower Enclosure

  • Rotary Positive - Pod Silencers - Combination Silencers - Fan Silencers - Centrifugal Silencers - Vent Silencers - Engine Silencers - Noise Enclosures - Positive Displacement Blower Silencer - Centrifugal Fan Silencer - Axial Fan Silencer - Blow Off Silencer - Industrial Enclosure - Engine Enclosure - Blower Enclosure

    EI Williams serves many products including: Axial Fan Silencer - Blow Off Silencer - Industrial Enclosure - Engine Enclosure - Blower Enclosure

  • Rotary Positive - Pod Silencers - Combination Silencers - Fan Silencers - Centrifugal Silencers - Vent Silencers - Engine Silencers - Noise Enclosures - Positive Displacement Blower Silencer - Centrifugal Fan Silencer - Axial Fan Silencer - Blow Off Silencer - Industrial Enclosure - Engine Enclosure - Blower Enclosure

    EI Williams serves many products including: Axial Fan Silencer - Blow Off Silencer - Industrial Enclosure - Engine Enclosure - Blower Enclosure

Fan Silencers

Click here to download or view this catalogue as an Acrobat PDF file. You can then print the catalogue. Free PDF reader software available here.


CFS Series Fan Silencer

Information On Fan Silencers

Industrial fan installations, small or large, produce noise. This fan noise is one of the most predominant noise sources in an industrial plant. The magnitude and intensity of noise will vary depending on fan size, horse power, air flow, type and number of blades, static pressure, rotational speed, etc.


Fans normally deliver a large volume of air at relatively low static pressures usually measured in inches of water. The rotating action of vanes produce a broad band noise spectrum however, the noise in mid to high frequency range is heard to be louder and requires to be treated for achieving noise control.


Generally, silencers are used at intake and discharge of fan installations for treating air borne noise. Fan silencers usually require absorptive type design as they are well known for better attenuation in mid and high frequency range (500-8000 Hz). The effectiveness of absorption material progressively reduces at frequencies above and below this range.


The noise control is achieved by means of absorption. The acoustic energy propagating through the silencer is effectively absorbed into the fiberous absorption material and converted into heat energy. These silencers generally employ straight thru design and has a low pressure drop as it imposes very little restriction to the flow.

Silencer Selection

The fan silencers are normally selected on the basis of maximum allowable pressure drop at rated flow and the silencing criteria. These silencers are usually sized for around 5000 to 5500 FPM velocity but not exceeding 7500 FPM velocity to prevent excessive self generated noise and aerodynamic noise generation. While selecting the fan silencer, it must be ensured that the flow area throughout the silencer is sufficient to accomodate the air flow without imposing excessive restriction.


The following table indicates the maximum recommended air flow in CFM for respective silencer size in accordance with the above guidelines.


Fan Silencers

Select the silencer size based on the air flow from the above table.


Refer to the formulas given here for calculating the pressure drop for the silencer size selected. Check this pressure drop against the maximum allowable pressure drop. If the pressure drop is too high, select the next larger size and recalculate.

Pressure Drop

(These calculations assume air as the flowing gas. For other gases, density and other corrections may be required. Contact our engineers for assistance).


Data Required:

  • Air Flow Rate (Actual CFM)
  • Temperature (°F)
  • Pressure (PSIG)
  • Maximum allowable pressure drop (inches of water)

If this pressure drop is higher than the maximum allowable pressure drop, then select next larger size and recalculate.

Temperature Limits

Various options for acoustical absorption materials are available with temperature limits ranging from 325°F to 1000°F. Please consult our engineers for your specific applications for selecting suitable absorption material suiting to your requirements.

Pressure Rating

The silencers described herein are designed to a maximum operating pressure of 15 PSIG. For applications where pressure exceeds 15 PSIG, the silencers can be designed to ASME Code, Section 8, Div. 1 for pressure vessel construction. The dimensions are similar to standard models, but the material type and thicknesses are selected to meet code requirements. Consult our engineers for pricing and design information.

Attenuation Curves

Noise attenuation curve showing insertion loss at each frequency is shown here. This represents the insertion loss for airborne noise under average conditions. The resultant silenced noise level will depend on a number of other factors therefore this curve should be used with discretion and can be used as a guideline for evaluating the noise levels after the silencer installation.


We specialize in custom designs and also provide various nozzle orientations to suit your specific requirements.

Axial Fan Silencers

Axial fan silencersAxial fan silencers are used for many different systems in the areas of industrial and commercial applications. These silencers are specifically designed to be able to complement airflow profiles for axial fans. The acoustical elements get aerodynamically matched with fan parameters to be able to minimize system effects with the outcome in maximize energy savings. An Axial fan silencer is available to fit any fan size, with construction materials suitable towards a system type, a fan size and a higher velocity of a fan type.

The available types of Axial Fan Silencers include media filled with film liner, dissipative media filled and No-Media designs. The E.I. Williams engineering service team can assist in applying an axial fan silencer that is required to meet various noise control requirements.

These application types are for the inlet or the outlet of the axial fans for the return air, exhaust air, and the smoke exhaust installations along with the air handling units, the tunnel ventilation installations and the air recirculation systems.

Axial Fan Silencers can be custom built by E.I. Williams for close coupling towards the inlet and the discharge of these axial fans. Axial Fan silencers are engineered so it can provide top quality sound attenuation to improve aerodynamic performance from the fan.

Contact E.I. Williams today to inquire about our experience and services regarding Axial Fan Silencers. We can assist you today and we look forward to helping you to design and manufacture custom Axial Fan silencers in order to meet specified standards.


To learn more about EI Williams, call us at (905) 428-0950 or toll-free at 1-877-840-3347 or you can also email us at info@eiwilliams.com for further inquiries.